Our Staff

The teaching staff of the school are fully committed in their professional work on behalf of pupils, parents, carers and the wider community, in raising standards within the school. In so doing, they are superbly aided by a range of ‘Support Staff’. All staff bring a great deal of professionalism in their approach to the education and welfare of the children under our care and and undertake a wide variety of roles within the school which help the teachers to deliver the curriculum in the most effective way. Many of these tasks will enable the teaching staff to more fully concentrate on the planning and assessment of learning.

It is very likely that your child will have a number of adults involved in their lessons through out the week. Whilst not all of these will be trained teachers, their contribution to your child’s education is substantial. They all have access to approved training and professional development. The responsibility for your child’s education in the classroom context will always be that of the class teacher. The Headteacher has the responsibility to ensure that all staff are sufficiently well trained and skilled to deliver the curriculum.

We are very fortunate at Herne View Church of England Primary to have a very well qualified and skilled group of support staff working with the children, and we hope that their contribution to teaching and learning through out the school is recognized.
We sincerely hope that you will work with us within a true partnership in the education of your child, and that you will find the teaching and support staff approachable and supportive to you. If you wish to know more about the staffing structure of the school, please talk to the Headteacher.

Teaching Staff

Headteacher: Claire Oaten

Assistant Headteacher and Curriculum lead: Andrew Whitfield

Assistant Headteacher, Designated Safeguarding and Inclusion lead (inc SENCO): Abby Coe

Simon Ashdown -Management and ECT cover

James Langdon – Year R Pippin also a Member of SLT

Kaddie-Marie Smith – Year R Sandew

Leni Baggley – Year R Dove

Nicola Sutherland – Year R Dove

Nicola Sutherland – Year 1/2 Camelot

Eve Turner – Year 1/2 Camelot

Madeleine Websdale – Year 1 Golden

Amber Eaton – Year 1 Puffin

Katie Dew – Year 2 Dunkerton

Winifred Nakayama – Year 2 Hook

Charlotte Wackett – Year 3 Ashton

Emily Taylor – Year 3 Morgan

Richard Lewis – Year 4 Gatcombe also a Member of SLT

Phoebe Swinson – Year 4 Coopers

Sian Sainsbury – Year 5 Russet

James Seaton – Year 5 Bartletts

George Musgrave – Year 5/6 Langworthy

Andrew Whitfield- Year 6 Clarinette

April Elliott – Year 6 Stembridge

School Support Staff

School Administrators – Amy Burke and Jo Read

Receptionists – Faye Hale, Emma Rees and Catherine Switzer

Learning Support Staff

Claire Allen

​Karen Aplin

Emma Barnard

Kylie Brister

Jean Brittain

Frances Broom

Megan Burton

Angela Crouch

Corinne Charles​

Sarah Chown

Clare Clements

Lesa Curtis-Ban

Dominique Done

Rebecca Dunn

Sarah Foster

Lauren Gulliford

Debbie Hallett​

Hayley Harkins

Ellie Hayes

Vernon Higgins

Hannah Jackson

Heather Lamb

Catherine Male

Julie Patmore

Kirsty Pearce

Sam Robbins

Joanne Robson

Sarah Rogers

Nicky Samways

Jessica Sanders

Jackie Turnock

Lucy Waclawik

Jodie Warwick

Courtney Watkins

Laura Winter

Lunchtime Supervisory Assistants

Amy Barrett

Charlotte Borysuk

Kylie Brister

Jean Brittain

Natalie Dark

Keiko Gardner

Kerry Larcombe

Jana Lyszyk

Jackie Osborne​

Jessica Sanders

Chris Sibley

Kayleigh Smith

Hanna Taylor

Jackie Turnock

Marie Ward

School Site Staff

Site Manager –  Vernon Higgins

School Caretaker – Jon Dyke

School Cleaning Staff – Hannah Atkinson, Stephen Baldwin, Chanel Collins, Suzanne Lawrence, Sarah Rogers, Diane Smith, Marie Ward and Philippa Watkins.

School Crossing Patrol –  Jon Dyke at Ditton St crossing. Vacancy for Canal Way and North St.